Deployment Survival Kit

Deploy

Happy Veteran’s Day!
Yes, I do know it was yesterday and that is when I started this post but sometimes life gets in the way.  I got interrupted, then distracted, then had to take care of a bunch of things so we could make it to the Veteran’s Day assembly at the elementary school (which was really well done. Very glad we went), then well, I just didn’t finish but I didn’t want to just let it go at that as I was reminded time and time again yesterday how important the day was to a lot of people.

When I was young I didn’t think much about Veteran’s Day – it was just something the school taught about and seemed to only apply to guys that were in Vietnam or something.  That is no longer how I view Veteran’s Day or the military.  In fact, the military is now a huge part of my life and that of my friends and family.  The photo above was taken at the airport when my husband returned from his second deployment to Iraq, almost 8 years ago (my kids were so little!).  My husband says he knew he wanted to be in the military since he was around 9 years old.  There are some people that are drawn to that life, and while I may not still fully understand the calling, I am behind them 100%.  It is a hard life for those in the military (and their family and friends), but it’s an important one.

With that in mind, this felt like the perfect time to share the Deployment Survival Kit

Deployment Survival Kit gift basket for military wife

Though he is back now, it doesn’t seem that long ago that the husband of a good friend deployed.  The day he left we knew she would have a hard time, so another friend and I  went over to her house for a Girl’s Night of hanging out.  We didn’t go empty-handed either.  My friend and I had a lot of fun putting together a Deployment Survival Kit for her.

Deployment Survival Kit gift basket idea DIY

Seriously, we went overboard.  It’s all my friend’s fault for picking a giant bucket for the container 😉

Gift Basket Idea for spouse of a military member being deployed Deployment Survival Kit

We decorated the container (yes, it’s vinyl lettering) and whipped up some fun tags for all the items in the basket.

Deployment Countdown Blocks Let the kids count down the days or weeks until their beloved military member comes home

Inside the basket:
-countdown blocks
-wine glass that reads “Deployment Survival, One Sip at a Time”

Custom Wine Glass for Deployment Survival Kit Deployment Survival One Sip at a Time

-tissues “to wipe away the tears”
-gourmet chocolate “because chocolate just makes everything better”
-decorative toothpicks “to help you pick out the good in every situation you encounter”

Deployment Survival Kit gift idea includes clever sayings for items in gift basket

-flashlight “to remind you there is a light at the end of the tunnel”
-margarita “for when you just need a DRINK”
-duct tape “to fix whatever is broken”
-lollipop “because deployments suck”
-hand sanitizer/soap “to clean your hands after doing all the manly work”
-paperclip/binder clip “to help you keep it together”
-bottle of wine “for when you feel like wine-ing”
(some of you that know me are probably thinking, “wait, what?”  No I don’t drink, but some of my friends do and I’m ok with that)
-cute pens “to sign your Xs and Os”
-nail polish “remember to take care or even better pamper yourself”
-yellow ribbon “to show the world you support your soldier”
-disguise (I did printable photo prop but it would have been cute with those eye glasses w/ mustache ones too) “for when you just want to hide out”
-coffee drink (energy drink would work well too) “for when you need the energy to make it through the day”

Deployment Survivial Kit Flag for military spouse

-flag “to remind you what the sacrifice is for”
-notebook/magnetic To Do list notebook “to keep your To Dos in order”
-nuts/trail mix “for when you feel like you’re going nuts”

Deployment Survival Kit ideas for items to fill the gift basket and tags with clever says to explain each item

-bubble wrap “to help relieve some stress”
-sewing kit “for when things are falling apart at the seams”
-rope “for when you reach the end of yours, this will keep you going a bit longer”
-Hershey Kisses “until you can kiss your soldier again”
-yo-yo “to remind you there will be ups and downs and it’s OK”
-manicure/pedicure kit (or just nail clippers/file) “for when you hit a snag”

Deployment Survival Kit Framed Keep Calm Printable

-funny/motivational quote (excuse the language – it’s not how I usually express myself but it fits her perfectly)

Rather extensive list, right?  Completely over the top. (no surprise – that’s how I often do things!)  Five to ten items would have been plenty.  For any of you that want to use the idea, now you have plenty to pick and choose from!  And, as always, if you are inspired by this idea I would love to hear about it.

Deployment Survival Kit Gift Basket Idea

Again, to all of our military and the family and friends who make it all possible, we thank you on Veteran’s Day and every day.  Keep up the good work!

Linking to:  DIY Sunday Showcase, Pretty Pintastic Party, Learning from Each Other, Snickerdoodle Sunday, BFF Open House, Merry Monday, Made By You Monday, Tip Me Tuesday, Lou Lou Girls,

13 thoughts on “Deployment Survival Kit

  1. MyHusbandHasTooManyHobbies says:

    I enjoyed your post and thank you to your husband for his service. This is such a lovely way to show support for our troops for the sacrifices they and their families make. Thank you for sharing with us at Snickerdoodle Sunday. Hope you have a wonderful week. Pinning!
    ~Laurie

    Like

  2. satrntgr says:

    That is adorable!! What a great way for them to feel at home, even when they aren’t. I send thanks to all that serve, have served and will serve to keep our country free! #HomeMattersParty

    Like

  3. Heather says:

    I pinned this about 7 months ago, when a dear friend of mines son was being developed to Afghanistan. And made this gift for her. It has to warm your heart that so many others have pinned the as well! Please thank your husband for me, for his services. I see how hard it is on families around me and on my daughter. Her husband isn’t deployed at this moment, but has been in Japan for 2 years. And it’s hard on her to be away from him. You and your family are in my thoughts and prayers! Thank you!

    Like

    • alaynascreations says:

      Ah thanks! Best wishes to your daugher – 2 years is a long time.
      My husband got back about a month ago and it’s been fantastic having him home again. Hopefully we don’t have to deal with another one anytime soon, but you do what you have to do, right?

      Like

Leave a comment