Cupcake Wars Birthday Party – Invitation

Kaitlyns Cupcake Wars Birthday Party Invitations In Progress

Who is ready for birthday cake?!

Within our close extended family there are half a dozen birthdays in the first two weeks of October, plus a couple of friends’ birthdays thrown into the mix (there was one yesterday, in fact) – that’s a LOT of birthdays!  So I have dubbed October our Birthday Month and I try to plan accordingly.  Then, of course, life gets the better of me and I realize that we are just over two weeks out from my daughter’s birthday and the invitations need to go out YESTERDAY! 😉

Luckily, that was do-able.Cupcake Wars Birthday Party Invitation Cupcake Themed DIY Invites

Kaitlyn decided on the theme for her birthday months ago – Cupcake Wars!  Isn’t that such a fun idea?!  I was completely on board and in no time we had a plan pulled together. But.  I didn’t do any actual work on the party until a couple of days ago.

Whenever I plan a party, I need a place to start and usually for me that is with a logo of some sort.  I Googled some clipart of the Cupcake Wars Logo and decided that wasn’t quite what we wanted.  My intention was to put the logo in fabric on aprons for the party and cutting out all those letters individually just wouldn’t work.  So I found some cupcake clipart Kaitlyn liked and we designed our own logo.

Kaitlyns Cupcake Wars Birthday Party Logo

The rest of the invitation came together pretty quickly.  I used the same cupcake clipart from the logo and printed it off large enough that we could write all the party details on the bottom section of the cupcake.Cupcake Party Invitation Cupcake Wars Birthday Party

To make it a little more unique and interactive I printed off another copy of the bottom of the cupcake and used it to make a kind of half-envelope for the invitation.  Notice how I printed it on the upper half of the cardstock so I could put a fold at the bottom?  Then I cut around the liner part and glued the sides together.Cupcake Party Invivation Cupcake Liner Envelope

Cupcake Wars Birthday Party Invitation DIY

Easy as that!  The cupcake insert just slides inside the half-envelope and looks all cute and pretty with the party details hidden inside.  And we now have the perfect spot for our Cupcake Wars Logo (which I adhered with some foam tape to give it a little more dimension).

Cupcake Birthday Party Invitation Cupcake Wars Logo

Easy as that!  Now on to sewing up some aprons…

Cupcake Wars Birthday Party Invitation Cupcake Themed DIY Invites

*Update:  The party was a huge success and so much fun!  Details and photos can be found on the blog HERE.
Cupcake Wars Birthday Party Ice Cream Shoppe Theme includes supplies for all sort of your favorite ice cream flavors

Linking to:  Learning from each other Link Party, A Little R&R Wednesday, Your Turn to Shine, Pretty Pintastic Party, BFF Open House,

4 thoughts on “Cupcake Wars Birthday Party – Invitation

  1. thejohnsonplusdog says:

    This is soooo cute! You’ll have to let us know how the party goes! It’s been so fun co-hosting with you at the #HomeMattersParty

    Like

Leave a comment